Division of Nursing establishes Honor Society of Nursing Chapter

Fri, 04/18/2008 (All day)

Mobile, Ala. – Spring Hill College’s Division of Nursing has been granted approval to establish a chapter of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International. The new Upsilon Sigma Chapter will be established at the chartering ceremony at 5 p.m. April 24 in Byrne Memorial Hall, followed by a reception. Approximately 55 nurse leaders and students will be inducted as charter members of this group.

The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to improve the health of people worldwide through leadership and scholarship in practice, education and research. Membership in the honor society is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship, and to nurse leaders who demonstrate exceptional achievement in nursing. To become part of the honor society, a school of nursing must offer a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent and be accredited by a recognized accrediting body.

Dr. Beth Baldwin Tigges, Ph.D., R.N., C.S., P.N.P., interim senior associate dean for research and clinical scholarship at the College of Nursing, University of New Mexico, will conduct the chartering ceremony.

Officers to be installed with Upsilon Sigma are:
President: Jennifer Marsh, M.S.N., R.N. (SHC Class of 2001)
President - Elect: Norman Blake Moore, C.R.N.A., M.N.A. (SHC Class of 1999)
Vice President: Dr. Janet Niemi Chubb, D.H.Sc., R.N.
Secretary: Tammy Lee, M.S.N.(c), R.N. (SHC Class of 2008)
Treasurer: Dr. Terry Mathers, D.N.S., R.N.
Archivist: Lynn Allin, R.N. (SHC Class of 2005)
Faculty Counselor: Dr. Carol Harrison, Ed.D., R.N., F.C.N.

For more information, contact Dr. Carol Harrison, chair of the Division of Nursing, at (251) 380-4492 or charrison@shc.edu.