Students recognized at Honors Convocation April 21

Thu, 04/22/2010 (All day)

April 22, 2010

MOBILE, Ala. – Spring Hill College recognized graduating seniors, undergraduates, graduate and continuing studies students at Honors Convocation on April 21. In addition to the individual awards listed below, students were also recognized for their scholastic achievement and induction into various honor societies.

Academic and Extracurricular Awards

Academic and extracurricular awards are given to encourage the achievement of academic excellence and to foster the development of initiative, self-reliance, and leadership in various phases of college life.

Senior Class Awards

Matt Rice Service Award – Ryan J. Nocito
Andrea LaPointe Service Award – Alyse K. Granier
Arrupe Award – Ryan J. Nocito
Edward Day Stewart Award – Ashley M. Puntila
Walsh Memorial Award – Jared D. Stoves
J. Franklin Murray, S.J., Award – Anne M. Standley
Bro. Claver Thomas, S.C., Award – Katherine A. Nicosia
Kearley Chemistry Award – Rex Senyo Amedo
Roy F. Montgomery Drama Award – Ryan J. Nocito
Ralph McClain Social Science Award – Allison N. Symulevich
J. Lambert Dorn, S.J., Award – Allison N. Symulevich
Mercy Medical Nursing Award – Justin P. Harrison
Providence Hospital Clinical Achievement Award – Kyle S. Rogers
Distinguished History Scholar Award – Nicholas M. Rayburn
Shawn B. Allin Memorial Award – Ellen Broering

Graduate and Undergraduate Academic Awards

Outstanding MBA Graduate Award – Sara M. Zieman
Ralph McClain Essay Award – Daniel J. Casanova
Houssiere Mathematics Award – Phillip M. Bressie
Merilh Essay Award – Danielle Maley
Lange Accounting Award – Julie L. Adams
Accounting Achievement Award – Alexandra M. Slivka
E. Ward Faulk Award – Julie L. Adams
Economics Award – Jamie L. Villmer
Wall Street Journal Award – Taylor M. Smith
Richard S. Lynch Award – Agnes R. Burdsall
Rev. Andrew C. Smith, S.J., Poetry Prize – Agnes R. Burdsall
Catholic Poetry Society of America Award – Walter Rodgers
Hutchinson Award – Kristine M. Farley
Robin Goodwin Memorial Award – Jasmine R. Williams
Catholic Press Award – Evan N. Parrott & Lindsey A. Peterson
Autry D. Greer Award – Lori A. Brannin
Howard Smith Award – Daniel J. Casanova & Robert N. Farrell
Providence Hospital Nursing Scholarship – Erin N. McSweeney
Daniel A. Creagan, S.J., Award – Andrew R. Bovine
Marilyn Spafford Award – The Theta Delta Chapter of Phi Mu & The Gamma Delta Chapter of Delta, Delta, Delta

Extracurricular Service and Leadership Awards

Outreach Service Award – Alyse K. Granier
Denise Cowan Community Service Award – Hayley N. Sheffield & Payton Strickland
Alpha Sigma Nu Scholarship – Dayna L. Shonk
Hacker J. Fagot, S.J., Award – Dr. Michael F. Kaffer

President’s Scholars

Upon nomination by the faculty of their disciplines, outstanding students are selected for special commendation by the President of the College. These scholars have excelled in their areas of study.

Accounting – James R. Rapp
Biology – Austin Fox
Business Administration – Andrew R. Bovine
Chemistry – Emily A. Williams
Communication Arts – Alyse K. Granier
Computer Information Systems – Whitney H. Dueitt
Continuing Studies – Kimberly E. Frank
Economics/Finance – Dora Escajadillo
English – Heather M. Bozant
Fine and Performing Arts – Jacqueline Cherigo
Hispanic Studies – Allison N. Symulevich
History – Caroline E. Haas
International Studies – Sara Boccardo
Mathematics – Kristal J. Webb
Nursing – Jessica D. Sharpe
Philosophy – Phillip M. Bressie
Political Science and Law – Allison N. Symulevich
Psychology – Anna K. Pate
Teacher Education – Early Childhood & Elementary Education – Sarah R. Dickson
Teacher Education – Secondary Education – Ashley M. Puntila
Theater – Ryan J. Nocito
Theology – Ryan J. Nocito
Writing – Heather M. Bozant