Public Relations Council of Alabama recognizes three Communication Arts students

Mon, 11/15/2010 - 1:15pm

MOBILE, Ala. – Three Spring Hill College Advertising and Public Relations Organization (ADPRO) students were recently awarded Bettie Hudgens Memorial Student Awards from the Mobile Chapter of the Public Relations Council of Alabama.

Alicia Reeves of Puxico, Mo., ADPRO president; and Caitlin Teahan of Jupiter, Fla., ADPRO vice president of promotions, were honored for spring 2010. Lauren McCarthy of Cantonment, Fla., Lambda Pi Eta Communication Honor Society president, was recognized for fall 2010.

The students were selected based upon GPA, community service, campus activity, samples of work/portfolio, and general understanding of the industry. These winning students are eligible to compete for the PRCA-State Student of the Year Award in the spring.

This award is named for the late Bettie Hudgens, a long-time SHC professor of communication arts. For more than 30 years, she was a teacher and advisor and a PR practitioner. Hudgens was the driving force behind expanding the interaction between students and professionals, building a bridge to higher education, and caring about the future of the profession.