Students recognized at Honors Convocation April 13

Thu, 04/14/2011 - 1:45pm

MOBILE, Ala. – Spring Hill College recognized graduating seniors, undergraduates, graduate and continuing studies students at Honors Convocation held in St. Joseph Chapel Wednesday, April 13. In addition to the individual awards listed below, students were also recognized for their scholastic achievement and induction into various honor societies.

Academic and Extracurricular Awards

Academic and extracurricular awards are given to encourage the achievement of academic excellence and to foster the development of initiative, self-reliance, and leadership in various phases of college life.

Senior Class Awards

Matt Rice Service Award – Colten R. Biro

Andrea LaPointe Service Award – Lauren E. McCarthy

Arrupe Award – Megan T. Blanchard and Mary Claire Burnett

Edward Day Stewart Award – Cori D. Sims and Colten R. Biro

Walsh Memorial Award – Adam G. Beathard

J. Franklin Murray, S.J., Award – Lauren E. McCarthy

Bro. Claver Thomas, S.C., Award – Mary Claire Burnett

Kearley Chemistry Award – Rex Senyo Amedo

Roy F. Montgomery Drama Award – William Seth Taylor

Ralph McClain Social Science Award – Brittani L. Lewis

J. Lambert Dorn, S.J., Award – Cecilia C. Venker

Mercy Medical Nursing Award – Anna C. Flood

Providence Hospital Clinical Achievement Award – Kelli M. Duncan

Ron Drago Award – Robert N. Farrell

Distinguished History Scholar Award – Megan E. Spruell

Graduate and Undergraduate Academic Awards

Outstanding MBA Graduate Award – Christopher R. Boike and Clinton A. Trocchio

Ralph McClain Essay Award – Megan E. Spruell

Houssiere Mathematics Award – David L. Mullek

Merilh Essay Award – Thomas R. Wingbermuehle

Lange Accounting Award – James R. Rapp

Accounting Achievement Award – Elizabeth A. Coppejans

E. Ward Faulk Award – Christopher R. Mistich

Economics Award – Elizabeth A. Coppejans

Richard S. Lynch Award – Aislinn M. Shevlin

Rev. Andrew C. Smith, S.J., Poetry Prize – Agnes R. Burdsall

Catholic Poetry Society of America Award – Sarah K. Hannan

Hutchinson Award – Cori D. Sims

Robin Goodwin Memorial Award – Katherine I. Imwalle

Catholic Press Award – Katelyn R. Ikner

Autry D. Greer Award – Kameron P. Malone

Howard Smith Award – Matthew A. Jordan and Hannah R. Zimmerman

Providence Hospital Nursing Scholarship – Ashleigh A. Ficarino

Daniel A. Creagan, S.J., Award – Deven D. Arnold

Special Collections Award – Jessica R. Logan and Tori Fleming

Print and Digital Collections Award – Haley D. Higgins and Tegan A. Tonsmeire

Marilyn Spafford Award – The Eta Eta Chapter of Delta Gamma

Extracurricular Service and Leadership Awards

Outreach Service Award – Jeffrey A. Merritt

Denise Cowan Community Service Award – Chelsea S. Mack

Alpha Sigma Nu Scholarship – Ginger M. Frander

Hacker J. Fagot, S.J., Award – Dr. Jamie L. Franco-Zamudio

President’s Scholars

Upon nomination by the faculty of their disciplines, outstanding students are selected for special commendation by the President of the College. These scholars have excelled in their areas of study.

Accounting – Cecilia C. Venker

Biology – William C. Smith

Biopsychology – Casey S. Butler

Business Administration – Ann W. Butts

Chemistry – Matthew E. Malus

Communication Arts – Abby L. Cowart

Computer Information Systems – Kyle F. Bradford

Continuing Studies – Dixie J. Wallace

Economics/Finance – Felix Lutter

Early Childhood/Elementary Education – Jennifer A. Shoub

English – Cori D. Sims

Graphic DesignKelly M. Mullins

Hispanic Studies – Mackensie D. Duhon

History – Daniel J. Casanova

International Studies – Colten R. Biro

Mathematics – James M. Murphy

Nursing – Erin N. McSweeney

Philosophy – Tony T. Nguyen

Political Science and Law – Chelsey M. Collins

Secondary Education – Robert N. Farrell

Studio ArtDayna L. Shonk

Theology – Chelsea A. Myers

Writing – Cori D. Sims