Students recognized at Honors Convocation April 20

Mon, 04/23/2012 - 3:30pm

MOBILE, Ala. – Spring Hill College recognized graduating seniors, undergraduates, graduate and continuing studies students at Honors Convocation held in St. Joseph Chapel Friday, April 20. In addition to the individual awards listed below, students were also recognized for their scholastic achievement and induction into various honor societies.

Academic and Extracurricular Awards

Academic and extracurricular awards are given to encourage the achievement of academic excellence and to foster the development of initiative, self-reliance, and leadership in various phases of college life.

Senior Class Awards

  • Matt Rice Service Award – Matthew A. Jordan
  • Andrea LaPointe Service Award – Hannah R. Zimmerman
  • Arrupe Award – Jennifer M. Cisco
  • Edward Day Stewart Award – Patricia E. Kelton           
  • Walsh Memorial Award – Lauren Victoria Rye
  • J. Franklin Murray, S.J., Award – Emily V. Stewart
  • Bro. Claver Thomas, S.C., Award – Katie E. Parsons
  • Kearley Chemistry Award – Elaine M. Haas
  • Ralph McClain Social Science Award – Hannah R. Zimmerman
  • J. Lambert Dorn, S.J., Award – Abby M. Galen
  • Ray C. “Buddy” Lauten Award – Tyler K. Shwab
  • Mercy Medical Nursing Award – Joshua T. Wing
  • Providence Hospital Clinical Achievement Award – Kayla C. Smith
  • Ron Drago Award – Matthew A. Jordan
  • Distinguished History Scholar Award – Phoenix J. Iverson

Graduate and Undergraduate Academic Awards

  • Outstanding MBA Graduate Award – Lt. McCrae T. Harrison, of the United States Coast Guard
  • Ralph McClain Essay Award – Hannah R. Zimmerman
  • Houssiere Mathematics Award – Lauren D. Klapp
  • Merilh Essay Award – Hannah R. Zimmerman
  • Lange Accounting Award – Abby M. Galen
  • Accounting Achievement Award – Deanna M. Jackson
  • E. Ward Faulk Award – Christian S. Chaney and Karissa F. Wilson
  • Economics Award – Starla R. Piccini
  • Richard S. Lynch Award – Cale T. Finta
  • Rev. Andrew C. Smith, S.J., Poetry Prize – Emily R. Sholly
  • Catholic Poetry Society of America Award – Agnes R. Burdsall
  • Hutchinson Award – Benjamin Edwin Burgess
  • Robin Goodwin Memorial Award – Payton A. Tanner
  • Catholic Press Award – Alicia D. Barbour
  • Autry D. Greer Award – Keli A. Mazza
  • Howard Smith Award – Whitney E. Brady and Konstantin C. Wertelecki
  • Providence Hospital Nursing Scholarship – Claire E. Kainer
  • Daniel A. Creagan, S.J., Award – Grant M. Benoit
  • Print and Digital Collections Award – Megan M. Zeringue
  • American Institute of Chemist Foundation Award– William Matthew Jones
  • Marilyn Spafford Award – Theta Delta Chapter of Phi Mu           

Extracurricular Service and Leadership Awards

  • Outreach Service Award – Caroline C. Wilson
  • Denise Cowan Community Service Award – Alexandra M. Messer and Tony T. Nguyen
  • Alpha Sigma Nu Scholarship – Jessica R. Logan
  • Hacker J. Fagot, S.J., Award – Reverend R. V. Baylon, S.J.

President’s Scholars

Upon nomination by the faculty of their disciplines, outstanding students are selected for special commendation by the President of the College. These scholars have excelled in their areas of study.

  • Accounting – Kristian G. Atchison
  • Biology – Derek G. Neupert
  • Business Administration – Lauren E. Rhodes
  • Chemistry – Matthew E. Malus
  • Communication Arts – Catharina M. Palmer
  • Computer Information Systems – Lorelei A. Koory
  • Continuing Studies – Sr. Monica G. Okon
  • Economics/Finance – Keri B. Sims
  • Early Childhood/Elementary Education – Hannah E. Etheredge
  • English – Agnes R. Burdsall
  • Graphic Design – Katherine D. Hedrick
  • Hispanic Studies – Chelsea N. Audibert
  • History – Hannah R. Zimmerman
  • International Studies – Katherine Springer
  • Mathematics – Tony T. Nguyen
  • Nursing – Ashleigh A. Ficarino
  • Philosophy – Tony T. Nguyen
  • Political Science and Law – Brock P. Boone
  • Psychology – Megan Zeringue
  • Secondary Education – Jenny N. Laird
  • Studio Art – Stacey N. Gallodoro
  • Theology – Stacey N. Gallodoro
  • Writing – Agnes R. Burdsall