Faculty and staff to be honored at Commencement ceremony May 5

Tue, 05/01/2012 - 9:00am

MOBILE, Ala. ­– Three faculty/staff members will be honored at Spring Hill College’s commencement exercises on Saturday, May 5.

Theresa McGonagle Crider, assistant vice president for academic affairs, is the recipient of the Rewak Award, which recognizes a faculty or staff member who represents in a significant way the Jesuit ideal of service. Arlene and Mayer Mitchell, friends and benefactors of Spring Hill College, have funded this award in honor of Rev. William Rewak, S.J., former president of the college.

McGonagle Crider graduated from Spring Hill College with a Bachelor of Arts in English in 1992 and a Master of Business Administration in 2004. She earned a Master of Science in Library and Information Studies from Florida State University in 2008. She joined the library/information technology staff in 1997 and the faculty in 2002.

Dr. Carolyn Simmons, associate professor of chemistry, is the recipient of the Dawson Service Award. The award is made to the professor who, in the judgment of a faculty committee, has displayed excellent service to the College.  Simmons earned a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from Florida State University in 2005. She joined the chemistry faculty in fall 2005.

Dr. Jamie Franco-Zamudio, assistant professor of psychology, has been named the Edward B. Moody, S.J., Teacher of the Year. The award is made annually to the professor who, in the judgment of a committee composed of a broad cross-section of the academic community, has displayed excellence in the fulfillment of the teaching mission of the college.

Franco-Zamudio earned a Ph.D. in psychology from the University of California, Santa Cruz in 2009. She joined the psychology faculty in fall 2009.

The ceremony begins at 10 a.m. on the college’s historic Avenue of the Oaks and will be available via a live video Webcast beginning at 9:55 a.m. at www.shc.edu/commencement.