Students recognized at Honors Convocation April 19

Tue, 04/23/2013 - 9:45am

MOBILE, Ala. – Spring Hill College recognized graduating seniors, undergraduates, graduate and continuing studies students at Honors Convocation held in St. Joseph Chapel Friday, April 19. In addition to the individual awards listed below, students were also recognized for their scholastic achievement and induction into various honor societies.

Academic and Extracurricular Awards

Academic and extracurricular awards are given to encourage the achievement of academic excellence and to foster the development of initiative, self-reliance, and leadership in various phases of college life.

Senior Class Awards

  • Matt Rice Service Award – Thomas “Cory” Cianciola
  • Andrea LaPointe Service Award – Chelsea N. Audibert
  • Arrupe Award – Amelie M. St. Romain and Erin E. Stauss
  • Edward Day Stewart Award – Caroline E. Starr 
  • Walsh Memorial Award – Payton A. Tanner       
  • J. Franklin Murray, S.J., Award – Payton A. Tanner
  • Bro. Claver Thomas, S.C., Award – Regina M. Morris
  • Kearley Chemistry Award – Patience M. Wright
  • Roy F. Montgomery Drama Award – Kathryn D. Therkelsen
  • Ralph McClain Social Science Award – Sean W. Mayberry
  • J. Lambert Dorn, S.J., Award – Christopher D. Cartmill
  • Mercy Medical Nursing Award – Caitlyn A. Monroe
  • Providence Hospital Clinical Achievement Award – Kate E. Frederic
  • Ron Drago Award – Ilaria P. Bruce
  • Distinguished History Scholar Award – Mark E. Brink and Konstantin C. Wertelecki
  • Shawn B. Allin Memorial Award – Leslie A. Kraynak and Patience M. Wright

Graduate and Undergraduate Academic Awards

  • Outstanding MBA Graduate Award – Brian A. Fisackerly
  • Ralph McClain Essay Award – Kathryn A. Jakuback
  • Houssiere Mathematics Award – Matthew J. Burke
  • Lange Accounting Award – Elizabeth E. McGinty
  • Accounting Achievement Award – Sheyda J. Aboutalebi
  • E. Ward Faulk Award – Christian S. Chaney
  • Economics Award – Jeffrey M. Johnston
  • Richard S. Lynch Award – Cale T. Finta
  • Rev. Andrew C. Smith, S.J., Poetry Prize – Cale T. Finta
  • Catholic Poetry Society of America Award – Emily R. Sholly
  • Robin Goodwin Memorial Award – Annie L. Kinler
  • Catholic Press Award – Lindsey N. Frechou
  • Autry D. Greer Award – Katelyn E. Gardner
  • Howard Smith Award – Megan K. Davis and Sara H. Horan
  • Providence Hospital Nursing Scholarship – Monica Castello
  • Daniel A. Creagan, S.J., Award – Efren S. Flores and Julia C. Lloyd
  • Charles Boyle Friends of the Library Special Collections Award – Abbey G. Roam
  • Marilyn Spafford Award – Theta Delta Chapter of Phi Mu

Extracurricular Service and Leadership Awards

  • Outreach Service Award – Chalisse C. Peltier
  • Denise Cowan Community Service Award – Stephen W. Ray
  • Alpha Sigma Nu Scholarship – Lindsey N. Frechou
  • Hacker J. Fagot, S.J., Award – Dr. Steven M. Almquist

President’s Scholars

Upon nomination by the faculty of their disciplines, outstanding students are selected for special commendation by the President of the College. These scholars have excelled in their areas of study.

  • Accounting – Christina S. Watson
  • Biology – Kevin A. Bockerstett
  • Business Administration – Paul J. Cortazzo
  • Chemistry – Leslie A. Kraynak
  • Communication Arts – Emily A. King
  • Computer Information Systems – Lorelei A. Koory
  • Continuing Studies – Ginger R. Feeney
  • Early Childhood/Elementary Education – Amanda B. Parker
  • English – Thomas “Cory” Cianciola
  • Financial Economics – Jenita F. Gamble
  • Graphic Design – Abbey G. Roam
  • Hispanic Studies – Cody B. Welliver
  • History – Whitney E. Brady
  • International Studies – Chelsea N. Audibert
  • Mathematics – Matthew J. Burke
  • Nursing – Claire E. Kainer
  • Philosophy – Caroline E. Starr
  • Political Science and Law – Christian S. Chaney
  • Psychology – Courtney M. Gibson
  • Secondary Education – Thomas “Cory” Cianciola
  • Studio Art – Margaret C. Benton
  • Theology – Jessica R. Logan
  • Writing – Emily R. Sholly