Spring Hill College advances in NCAA process

Fri, 07/11/2014 - 12:15pm

MOBILE, Ala. – The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) has notified Spring Hill College that it has successfully completed its first year of candidacy for membership in NCAA Division II and has been advanced to the second year of the membership candidacy process by the Division II Membership Committee. The decision is subject to final approval from the NCAA Division II Management Council which meets in late July. Spring Hill College president, Greg Lucey, S.J., received the official notification via a phone call on Thursday afternoon.

 “It was great to get the news that the Membership Committee had advanced us to year two,” said Athletic Director Jim Hall. “We’ve worked diligently over the last two years to make this next phase in the upward evolution of Badger Athletics a reality. There is still considerable work to be done the next two years, but we are thrilled to be moving forward with the process.”

In October 2012, Spring Hill College accepted an invitation to join the 13-member Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) and began the application process for NCAA membership.

Achieving full NCAA Division II membership typically takes three years. Provided the athletic department successfully completes each of the remaining phases of the membership process, Spring Hill will spend one more year in candidacy status and then one year as a provisional member of NCAA Division II before gaining full membership status.

During the upcoming 2014-15 and 2015-16 academic years, Spring Hill’s 16 varsity athletic programs that are making the transition to the NCAA Division II level will play full slates of NCAA Division II and SIAC regular season competition. The Badgers will not be eligible for NCAA or SIAC post-season competition until the 2016-17 seasons after full NCAA Division II membership has been attained.

By becoming a member of the NCAA, Spring Hill College has joined the 26 Jesuit colleges and universities nationwide that are already members of the NCAA.